Night One of the Bud's Spring Service Memorial Day Open at Lanco's Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway produced a winning foursome of Mike Rutherford (600cc), Jason Swavely (270cc), Lee Reinhardt (Sportsman), and Cliff Brian Jr. (125cc/250cc Four-Stroke Challenge). 

  Rutherford, from Lititz, PA, captured his second straight Hyper Racing 600 Sprint victory, and his third of the season. Under caution with four circuits complete, early leader Dan Souder chose the outside lane for the restart. When Souder hit the gas and lifted his front wheels off the ground, Rutherford capitalized, launching off the inside of turn four to sneak in front of Souder's No. 11. 

  As Rutherford steadily pulled away, incredibly intense racing took place for positions two through six. Souder, ninth-starter Jesse Maurer, Aaron Bollinger, Bradley Brown, and Kameron Morral fought tooth-and-nail, throwing slide job after slide job and dicing two and three-wide. When Rutherford got bogged down a bit in lapped traffic, Souder and the rest of that pack closed in on him. Maurer slipped past Souder in traffic to run second, then shoved the nose of his No. 3 under Rutherford on a couple occasions in a duel for the lead. 

  Travis Keiser and Chris Good flipped wildly in turns three and four to bring out the yellow with eight to go. The incident also collected Souder and Morral. All drivers involved were uninjured. Rutherford now had clear race track in front of him, and he took full advantage of it, zipping out to a half-second cushion and winning the 25-lapper over Maurer, Bollinger, Heath Hehnly, and Ryan Groff.

  Heat wins went to Groff, Nash Ely, and Brian Kramer. Holden Eckman won the consolation race.

  The lead was not the place to be in the Viper Chassis 270 main. Josh Stoyer bolted from the pole and appeared to have the field covered, but his No. 3 fell victim to mechanical ills with just five tours remaining in the 25-lap contest. Stoyer's misfortune handed the top spot to Mike Rutherford, who assumed the role of apparent winner until his mount gave up with only two laps left to run. Jason Swavely inherited the lead when Rutherford fell out, and lady luck finally smiled, rather than frowned, on the race leader. Swavely, from Fleetwood, PA, held on for his first win of the season at the Clyde. 

  Toby Blumenshine finished second after a hard fought, race-long battle with Swavely and Nick Skias, who placed third. Andrew Dietrich (started 14th) and Danny Lane Jr. (started 15th) completed the top five.

  A great field of 34 entered the 270cc portion of Saturday's event. Stoyer, Rutherford, Blumenshine, and Swavely won heat races while the twin consi's went to Nate Gibble and Austin Graby.

  Elmer, New Jersey's Lee Reinhardt simply spanked the Sportsman field in Saturday's 25-lap feature. Following a dominating win in his heat race, Reinhardt ducked under pole sitter Patrick Kirn as they headed into the first corner, then accelerated off turn two as the leader. It was a lead he would not relinquish, romping to victory by more than two-seconds over Kyler Heiney. It was Reinhardt's first career triumph at Clyde Martin, while Heiney recorded his best finish since taking over the Hibshman No. 62h. Jeremy Eisenhauer survived a broken chain tensioner to earn third place money, with Deana Cogdill and Nate Gibble finishing fourth and fifth. 

  Reinhardt and Patrick Kirn won the Sportsman heat races.

  Saturday's Bud Spring Services Memorial Day Open, Night One, served as the third installment of the 125cc/250cc Four-Stroke Challenge...but this was the first time the two classes competed against one another with wings. The result was the same as the two non-winged events, as Cliff Brian Jr. drove his No. 99 Four-Stroke to a convincing victory. 

  Brian, from Ephrata, PA, darted from the pole to lead every one of the 25-revolutions, with his young brother Marty dashing from fourth to second on the opening tour. Jim Harrington (Four-Stroke), Mike Glass (125cc), and Kyler Heiney (125cc) battled behind the front runners until Marty Brian's night came to a sudden, high impact conclusion. Steve Simmons stopped in the middle of turns one and two and Marty, flat-footing it in the high groove, had nowhere to go as he pounded Simmon's disabled No. 1z. Fortunately, both drivers were shaken but okay, although Marty Brian was forced to retire from the race with heavy damage to his No. 16.

  On the restart, Cliff Brian simply danced away to another huge lead while Glass, Harrington, and Kyler Heiney mixed it up with Zachary Young for the runner-up position. Glass eventually claimed the spot, going on to finish second as C. Brian won handily. Heiney, who thought he was blowing up midway through the race and almost pulled off the track, rammed his car into first gear and it took off again. He was 18th on the original start, lost a few spots when he almost dropped out, but persevered to finish third. Harrington wound up fourth and Z. Young rounded out the top five. 

  Heat wins fell to C. Brian and Dan Massey. 

  Night Two of the Bud's Spring Service Memorial Day Open takes place on Sunday, May 26. The Hyper Racing 600 Sprints, Viper Chassis 270 Sprints, and All Star Slingshots will be in action. The winged sprint classes will receive a payout for every race they run on Sunday - heats, B-Mains, and A-Mains, while the Slingshots compete in the seventh annual Slide at the Clyde. Gates open at 4:30, warm-ups begin at 6 p.m., and the first heat race goes green at 7:00. 

  The Clyde will be dark on June 1st as the Lanco club takes a scheduled night off, but action resumes on Saturday, June 8, for Scout Night at the speedway. All Scouts (in uniform) will receive free admission to the races on June 8. The five weekly divisions will compete in heats, consolations, and 25-lap features as the point chases kick into high gear for the summer months. 

  Come on out and LIVE the excitement that is Lanco! 


Hyper Racing 600 Sprints (25 Laps): 1.Mike Rutherford, 2.Jesse Maurer, 3.Aaron Bollinger, 4.Heath Hehnly, 5.Ryan Groff, 6.Chris Panczner, 7.Bradley Brown, 8.Jarid Kunkle, 9.Nash Ely, 10.Bobby Butler, 11.Jesse Snyder, 12.Zach Light, 13.Brian Kramer, 14.Holden Eckman, 15.Will Urkuski, 16.Donald Hess, 17.Kenny Harris, 18.Rebecca LaMothe, 19.Mark Landwher, 20.Dan Souder, 21.Kameron Morral, 22.Travis Keiser, 23.Chris Good, 24.Chelsey Moore.

DNQ: Ryan Greth.

Viper Chassis 270 Sprints (25 Laps): 1.Jason Swavely, 2.Toby Blumenshine, 3.Nick Skias, 4.Andrew Dietrich, 5.Dan Lane Jr., 6.Mike Skias, 7.Heath Hehnly, 8.Mike Boyer, 9.Pete Skias, 10.Austin Graby, 11.Patrick Kirn, 12.Billy Logeman, 13.Corey Schmuck Jr., 14.Nate Gibble, 15.Christi Sweigart, 16.Adam Harnish, 17.Brandon Gibble, 18.Brian Boyer, 19.Mike Rutherford, 20.Josh Stoyer, 21.Bradley Brown, 22.Ben Layser, 23.Zak Vickers, 24.Zack Hollinger.

DNQ: Anthonty Yerger, Trent Eberhart, Chad Riddle, Mark Landwher, Tom Landwher, Mike Rice, Jonah Meck, Matt Thompson, Junior Ramer, Ed Tyers.

Sportsman Feature (25 Laps): 1.Lee Reinhardt, 2.Kyler Heiney, 3.Jeremy Eisenhauer, 4.Deana Cogdill, 5.Nate Gibble, 6.Clinton Hauser, 7.Anthony Yerger, 8.Mike Kreiser, 9.Charles Hellinger, 10.Zak Vickers, 11.Josh Stoyer, 12.Sam Borger, 13.Rich Byron, 14.Dennis Adams, 15.Patrick Kirn, 16.Brittany Zeller, 17.Jamie Flickinger, 18.Cody Riehl.

125cc/250cc Four-Stroke Challenge (25 Laps): 1.Cliff Brian Jr., 2.Mike Glass, 3.Kyler Heiney, 4.Jim Harrington, 5.Zachary Young, 6.Tyler Martin, 7.Chase Layser, 8.Eddie Nocera, 9.Riley Simmons, 10.Barbie Eichorn, 11.Ron Young, 12.Holden Eckman, 13.Ron Wechter, 14.Marty Brian, 15.RJ Rossi, 16.Dylan Yiengst, 17.Brandon Gibble, 18.Dan Massey, 19.Steve Simmons, 20.Jessica Moore. DNS: Kerry Lengle.