Michael & Lengle Also Victorious On May 26

Submitted by Barry Angstadt

Newmanstown, PA (May 26) -  He just had to wait for the right moment to pounce...

  Manheim’s Heath Hehnly, the six-time and defending Hyper Racing 600cc point champ, picked the correct lane in late race heavy traffic, then went on to win his first of the year on Night One of the Bud’s Spring Service Memorial Day Double at Lanco’s Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway on Saturday night.

  When race leader Jarid Kunkle went high in an effort to weave through a pack of cars, Hehnly ducked to the inside and made the right choice as he threaded his way past not only the lapped cars, but Kunkle, too. Hehnly became the new leader with just three circuits remaining.

  Once in front, Hehnly simply checked out on the rest of the field over the final laps. Kunkle chased him to the checkered, with Ryan Groff making some nifty moves in mid-race to grab third place money. Zach Light and Jimmy Glenn completed the top five.

  The Viper Chassis 270cc Sprints presented a race in which it was not always a good thing to be the leader. Austin Graby set the early pace and right through lap 19, when mechanical ills forced him to retire from the event.

  It was then Jarid Kunkle’s turn at the top. He was passed by Rutherford on a restart as Kunkle’s car began to slow and, eventually, pulled off the track and watched the final three laps from the infield.

  Rutherford inherited the lead at that point, and the Lititz resident made the most of his opportunity. He went on to claim his second 270 victory of the campaign over Christi Sweigart, 18th starter Bradley Brown, Sami Schenck, and Cameron Bellinger.   

  In the Bud’s Spring Service main for the Sportsman Class, Mike Rutherford clawed his way victory, earning his fifth overall Lanco win of the season. Rutherford slipped past race leader Danny Lane Jr. On the 14th trip around the clay, then checked out before winning easily. Lane, in his first ride aboard the Sam Borger No. 04, soldiered on for a second place finish. Shane Davis wound up third with Dave Ravel and Mike Boyer finishing fourth and fifth, respectively. 

  The 250cc Four-Stroke cars nearly ran a non-stop, 25 lap feature on Saturday, as the first 16 tours went clean and green. Only two yellows put a temporary  halt to the action with 16 complete. Kassidy Michael led from the outset after starting on the pole, but had her hands full dealing with traffic after catching the back end of the field. Dave Ravel, subbing for Zac Vickers, ran a strong race to finish second, with Cliff Brian Jr. Taking the checkered in third. Tommy Phipps Jr. Wound up fourth and Eddie Nocera rounded out the top five.

  Kerry Lengle won his third straight feature for the 125cc Sprints on Saturday. Lengle started on the pole in his Lengle’s Lawn Care/ Mongoose Chassis No. 81. The Myerstown driver then waltzed to victory over Corey Schmuck Jr. Waged a spirited battle for second with Kyler Heiney, with Schmuck eventually winning out and securing the spot. 

  Lengle picked up his third win of the year, with Schmuck finishing as the runner-up and Heiney settling for third. Jas Hehnly and Kory Merkey made up the top five when the checkered flag fell. 

  Sunday, May 27, is the second night of the Bud’s Spring Service Memorial Day Double. On Sunday, the winged 600’s, winged 270’s, and All Star Slingshots will battle on the progressively banked oval. Gates open at 3:30 p.m. with driver’s meeting beginning at 5:00. Racing action will follow immediately after hot laps. 

  There will be no racing at Clyde Martin on Saturday, June 2nd, as the club takes its first of two scheduled nights off in 2018. On Saturday, June 9th, everyone is welcome to race as we get set to complete the 600cc and Sportsman features from May 5th, then get set to spin off an entirely new racing program. Fans will be treated to seven main events on June 9!

  On June 9 and 16, gates will open at 3:30 p.m. and warm-ups get the nod at approximately 5:15. Racing, beginning with the make-up consi and features for the 600’s and Four-Strokes, will begin right after hot laps are finished. 

RESULTS:Hyper Racing 600cc Sprint Feature, 25 Laps: 1.Heath Hehnly, 2.Jarid Kunkle, 3.Ryan Groff, 4.Zach Light, 5.Jimmy Glenn, 6.TJ Greve, 7.Nash Ely, 8.Bradley Brown, 9.Kassidy Michael, 10.Chris Panczner, 11.Kameron Morral, 12.Chris Gerhart, 13.Shaun Brandel, 14.Will Urkuski, 15.Michael Thompson, 16.Bruce Ginther Jr., 17.Matthew Donley, 18.Donald Hess, 19.Toby Blumenshine, 20.Ben Earnst, 21.Brent Ely, 22.Brian Kramer. DNS: Holden Eckman, Mike Rutherford.

Viper Chassis 270cc Sprint Feature, 25 Laps: 1.Mike Rutherford, 2.Christi Sweigart, 3.Bradley Brown, 4.Sami Schenck, 5.Cameron Bellinger, 6.Nick Skias, 7.Mike Skias, 8.Brian Sholley, 9.Matthew Kreider, 10.Billy Logeman, 11.Cliff Brian Jr., 12.Jarid Kunkle, 13.Austin Graby, 14.Dylan Adams, 15.John Ruoss, 16.Tajae Adams, 17.Toby Blumenshine, 18.TJ Greve, 19.Devin Adams, 20.Jarrett Imler, 21.Corey Schmuck Jr., 22.Dan Lane Jr.

Sportsman Feature, 25 Laps: 1.Mike Rutherford, 2.Dan Lane Jr., 3.Kory Merkey, 4.Dave Ravel, 5.Mike Boyer, 6.Toby Blumenshine, 7.Devin Adams, 8.Phil Durham, 9.Kane Rogers, 10.Robert Shanaman, 11.Sami Schenck, 12.Dave Schroeder, 13.Louie Kirn, 14.Dallas Schott, 15.Austin Yingst, 16.Noah Merkey, 17.Ava Bellinger, 18.Alex Funari, 19.Jeremy Eisenhauer, 20.Ricky Sechrist, 21.Patrick Kirn, 22.Sam Barge, 23.Steve Smith. DNS: Clinton Hauser.

250cc Four-Stroke Feature, 25 Laps: 1.Kassidy Michael, 2.Dave Ravel, 3.Cliff Brian Jr., 4.Tommy Phipps Jr., 5.Eddie Nocera, 6.Marty Brian, 7.Donna Geib, 8.Mike Coen, 9.Jessica Moore, 10.Ron Zimmerman, 11.Riley Simmons, 12.Dylan Yeingst, 13.Zachary Young, 14.Ron Wechter, 15.Ron Young.

125cc Sprint Feature, 25 Laps: 1.Kerry Lengle, 2.Corey Schmuck Jr., 3.Kyler Heiney, 4.Jas Hehnly, 5.Shane Davis, 6.Chase Layser, 7.Dalton Eckman, 8.Adam Barge, 9.Brian Kramer, 10.Mike Glass, 11.Austin Graby, 12.Richard Stuck, 13.Jimmy Wampole. DNS: Kalani Adams.