Manotti Takes 4th Straight in 125's; Vickers Notches Four-Stroke Victory

by Barry Angstadt

Newmanstown, PA -   Two races, two weeks apart, and two different cars (and car owners).  Oh, and both resulted in victories for Kyle Spence.

  The hard charger from Bear, Delaware, made it two straight in the Hyper Racing 600 Sprints on Saturday night at Lanco's Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway. On Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Night,  Spence snatched the lead for good from Corry Roth with ten circuits complete, then held off Roth and Ryan Groff to record the win. Chris Panczner and Bradley Brown completed the top five.

  Mike Rutherford, from Lititz, Pa., notched his fourth win of the campaign in the Viper Chassis 270 division. Three of Rutherford's triumphs have come with a wing, and there was one wingless victory on April 1st. 

  Rutherford powered around the outside of Kyle Spence to grab the lead on a restart with 12 laps in the books. He went on to win over Nick Skias, Billy Logeman, Heath Hehnly, and Josh Stoyer.

  The Sportsman feature was wildly entertaining, as the battle for the lead was almost overshadowed by a fantastic four-car tussle for third place.

  Jason Swavely, who started 11th, grabbed the top spot at the halfway point of the 25-lapper. He had to fend off constant attacks from Angelo Mercado during the second half of the event. Right behind the scuffle for the lead were Cameron Bellinger, Mike Rutherford, Dan Lane Jr., and Kane Rogers and they waged war for the third position. 

  At the finish, it was Swavely, from Fleetwood Pa.,  scoring yet another Sportsman division victory, just beating Mercado to the checkered flag. Rutherford made a last lap move to finish third, with Bellinger and Lane rounding out the top five.

  Zak Vickers, from Flemington, NJ, has struggled mightily this season. So his win in Saturday's Hammerdown Engines 250cc Four-Stroke main felt especially sweet to the youthful wheel-twister.

  Vickers worked his way past Lew Kepple to snare the lead on the seventh trip around the oval. He went on to beat Mike Coen, Donna Geib, Kepple, and Eddie Nocera for the victory. 

  William Manotti, Lancaster, Pa., registered his fourth consecutive triumph in the 125cc Class. Manotti passed Austin Graby for the top spot on lap six and never looked back.

  Graby wound up second with Brandon Gibble, Mike Glass, and Tyler Hershey making up the top five.

  Lanco's Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway is back in action on Saturday, June 17, with another five division card of qualifying heats, consolations, and 25-lap features. Gates open at 4:30 with warm-ups at 6 p.m. The first heat race goes green at 7:00.


Hyper Racing 600 Sprints Feature, 25 laps: 1.Kyle Spence, 2.Corry Roth, 3.Ryan Groff, 4.Chris Panczner, 5.Bradley Brown, 6.Jarid Kunkle, 7.Heath Hehnly, 8.Mike Rutherford, 9.Jason Swavely, 10.Brent Ely, 11.BJ Antonio, 12.Hunter James, 13.Kassidy Michael, 14.Shaun Brandel, 15.Logan Spahr, 16.Zach Light, 17.Kelby Stauffer, 18.Jeff Stelter, 19.Austin Quick, 20.Will Urkuski, 21.Chris Oraschin, 22.Jimmy Glenn, 23.Nash Ely, 24.James Morris.

DNQ: Rebecca LaMothe, Hunter Metzger, Don Hess, Amber Oraschin, Austin Graby, Jason Sechrist, Chris Gerhart.

Viper Chassis 270 Sprints Feature, 25 laps: 1.Mike Rutherford, 2.Nick Skias, 3.Billy Logeman, 4.Heath Hehnly, 5.Josh Stoyer, 6.Tajae Adams, 7.Sammi Schenck, 8.Devin Adams, 9.John Ruoss, 10.Dallas Schott, 11.Jarrett Imler, 12.Adam Harnish, 13.Zack Hollinger, 14.Christi Sweigart, 15.Andrew Dietrich, 16.Kyle Spence, 17.Justin Harrington, 18.Anthony Yerger, 19.Toby Blumenshine, 20.Dan Lane Jr.

Sportsman Micro-Sprint Feature, 25 laps: 1.Jason Swavely, 2.Angelo Mercado, 3.Mike Rutherford, 4.Cameron Belling er, 5.Dan Lane Jr., 6.Kane Rogers, 7.Austin Graby, 8.Nick Skias, 9.Michael Kreiser, 10.Sheena Schaeffter, 11.Devin Adams, 12.Robert Shanaman, 13.Brian Kramer, 19Alan Durham, 20.Ricky Sechrist.

Hammerdown Engines 250cc Four-Stroke Micro-Sprints 25 laps: 1.Zak Vickers, 2.Mike Coen, 3.Donna Geib, 4.Zak Vickers, 5.Eddie Nocera, 6.Cliff Brian Jr., 7.Ron Wechter, 8.Tommy Phipps, 9.Ryan Smmerman, 10.Ron Zimmerman, 11.Noah Merkey, 12.Nate Gibble, 13.Aidan Jones.

125cc Microsprint Feature, 25 laps: 1.William Manotti. 2.Justin Graby, 3.Brandon Gibble, 4.Mike Glass, 5.Tyler Hershey, 6 Holden Eckman, 7.Aidan Svanda, 8.Richard Stuck, 9.Kalani Adams, 10.Ryan Swavely, 11.Noah Merkey, 12.Nate Gibble, 13.Corey Schmuck Jr., 14.Kody Hibshman, 15.Shane Davis, 16.Brandon Stuck, 17.Jimmy Wampole.

DNS: Kerry Lengle, Dave Barlip.